Europe agreements in the European Union Law

Concept of Europe agreements provided by the “Glossary of terms used in EU competition policy” (Antitrust and control of concentrations, published in 2002): Europe agreements are bilateral association agreements that have been concluded between the European Communities and their Member States on the one hand and each of the following countries of central and eastern Europe: Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia. Europe agreements recognise the fact that the ultimate objective of the associated countries is to accede to the European Union. Their purpose is to help the associated countries achieve that objective. Europe agreements include the establishment of a political dialogue, the creation of a free trade area, a commitment by the associated countries to approximate their legislation with that of the Community, as well as economic, cultural and financial cooperation. In trade between the Community and the associated country, competition disciplines similar to those of the EC Treaty apply.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *